30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 27

30-Day_Part2

The challenge’s head is stuffed with fluff.

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.

Pooh

Day 27: Our assignment was to draw our Favorite Disney Character.

Honestly? I don’t have one. Really! I’m not that into Disney characters at all. I could have put Ariel, since I think the music from Little Mermaid was amazing, but I really can’t call her a “favorite character.” It’s the music I like… that, and the Jungle Book music. (King Louie’s “I Wanna Be Like You” solo is a classic, as is the vulture Beatles parody “We’re Your Friends.”)

But then I thought of Winnie the Pooh. Now, I realize that Pooh was not created by Disney. No, Disney merely exploited Pooh and made gazillions. A. A. Milne created the whole Pooh menagerie and those books are sheer genius for entertaining kids while not driving the adults who have to read them insane. We loved them, in fact. I confess I’ve read them without a kid on my lap or anywhere in sight. The droll humor is pretty classic. And the insights have been distilled into books like The Tao of Pooh and The Te of Piglet.

But, since most people think of Pooh as Disney now, I can proudly claim “Winnie the” (we’re on a first-and-middle name basis, you know) as my favorite. But I drew the version created by Ernest H. Shepard (illustrator of the A. A. Milne books), since in my opinion, it’s way cuter than the Disney version.

So Pooh it is, and all this in spite of the fact that when our 5th grade class put on a Winnie the Pooh play, I was given the one-second, one-line role of a BUG. I still remember my line! “Who me?” I’ve been asking that question ever since.

I drew Pooh on the Blustery day, which, as we all know, is when anyone needs a friend the most.

I didn’t mean to make Piglet seem quite so much like a measles patient. I’m pretty sure, in fact, that he was immunized. But my set of markers is limited as to colors and this what I tried to get a pinkish yet not-too-pink pink. Oh well. I know Piglet won’t mind. Rabbit’s attitude would have been another story…
About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 27

  1. Don says:

    I figured you would have picked something like Steamboat Willie, or Dumbo, or Bambi…
    You’re really old is what I’m trying to say here. 😛

    LOVE the drawing though. Pooh is a great one, and the Tao of Pooh was a great book. And I agree: the original illustrations are better than Disney’s.

Leave a Reply

