30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 23

30-Day_Part2

The challenge is all turned around.

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.

Me As Girl

Day 23: Our assignment was to draw ourselves as the Opposite Sex.

This was another one that made me scratch my head and go, “Huh?!”

I mean, I’m not that kind of artist. I can’t even draw myself (recognizably) as my actual sex now. So what would a picture of the opposite sex be?

I thought, “Well, I could, you know… add long hair!”

Nope. I had a ponytail in my teens, without a single Y chromosome in my body. I wish I still had that ponytail…

Then I thought of drawing a picture of my youngest daughter when she wore a man’s suit coat and fedora and painted on a mustache for a middle school skit, because when she did, she looked a lot like a skinny, years-ago teenage me (with the addition of my adult 80s mustache). But that wouldn’t be drawing ME, but drawing my daughter who looked like me. So, no. Hmmm.

At the end I figured I’d likely do the same things I do now, hence the picture you see above.

And to be honest, that’s all the artistic energy I could come up with after a really exhausting day (mostly fun, but with one bit of really sad news.) So, if my character faced you, I might have to draw a few tears.

And who says tears are only for girls?

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

