30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 20

30-Day_Part2

The challenge goofed!

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.Faux Pas

Day 20: Our assignment was to draw a Faux Pas.

Faux Pas: “oopsy.” Since the 30-Day challenge gave the alternate as “Fox Paw,” that’s a faux pas in itself. Hmmm.

My idea for this days’ challenge came to me immediately:

That Moment When You Write An Email To Your Wife And Send It To Your Entire Mailing List.

A little over ten years ago, I was traveling on a business trip and wrote my wife an email. The message contained the usual mushy-romantic stuff (yeah, we’re still like that) and I updated her on my day.

When I clicked “send,” I noticed that my email client (remember Eudora?) was running through a whole list of addresses and taking more time to send. Then I realized that I had inadvertently addressed it to our entire mailing list of over 300 people!

I had conveniently added an underscore to a few addresses so they would be at the top of the list. So _Donna was right up there with the _Davis Update. So for the sake of a few pixels, I had clicked on the wrong address, and whoosh! My message went to the whole group.

PANIC.

What did I say? WHAT DID I SAY?!!

I mean, I knew the message wasn’t x-rated, but it was “eyes-only” for my wife. Eeek. And I did use our sort-of-secret pet name.

I quickly scanned my now-public email. Not too racy–whew! Didn’t say anything slanderous about our boss or coworkers–whew! Well, I did call our organizations groundskeeper’s new baby “ugly-cute.” But he wouldn’t get the email (and I did add the hyphen cute part, right?)

So I felt somewhat safe. The main thing was I would look stupid.

The responses came flowing in…

Some people claimed, “I noticed right away this wasn’t for me and stopped reading.” Yeah, right.

Others were disappointed, “When I realized this was for Donna, I was hoping for more interesting reading. Dang, this was boring!

The best one came immediately. I mean IMMEDIATELY. As I picture it, this friend must have fallen to the floor laughing, reached up and tapped out a few characters and hit send before curling up to resume her out-of-breath hysterics.

She wrote (names being changed to protect the innocent and the guilty):

“(Pet name),

Love you, too.

Hugs and kisses,

-(Her Name)

This person, dear friend that she is, NEVER writes. She never responds to email. But this time, I got an immediate response!

So for those of you who are willing to make a fool of yourself, and are at your wits’ end trying to get people to write back…

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 20

  1. Don says:

    I’ll keep that trick in mind for getting people to write. 😀

    Looking forward to your “useless superpower” drawing.

Leave a Reply

