30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 18

30-Day_Part2

The challenge is spacey, man!

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.

2001

Day 18: Our assignment was to draw Outer Space.

*fade in*

EXT. OUTER SPACE. DAY (OR IS IT NIGHT?)

Also Sprach Zarathustra plays in the background. Start weird whiny noise…

Confuse viewers for a couple hours (replay weird whiny noise; show weird big rock)

*fade out*

This is about as “outer space” as it gets for me and those of us for whom 2001: A Space Odyssey was our first grown-up movie. Those of us for whom the year 2001 sounded extremely futuristic in (ahem) 1968.

Okay, yeah. 45 years later, we still don’t understand it. But it’s iconic, and the Blue Danube space station landing was about the coolest cinematic event ever.

But then again, when I think of outer space, I also start singing…

Ground control to Major Tom…

NOTE: I post in a different time zone, so I was able to learn about (and copy) Don Hillson‘s technique of drawing the limited white space in black, the digitally turning the image into a negative. Way cool, Don.
About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 18

  1. Don says:

    Hey, I’m sincerely flattered you thought my post was cool enough to try for yourself! 😀 Can’t really call it “my technique” though – in the long history of art, I surely can’t be anywhere near the first to draw in negative and invert it. After all, there’s even a Photoshop filter for it. 😛

    Your drawing, BTW, is awesome. Good work.

    (and now I have Space Oddity playing in my head. Not a bad thing)

  2. Bill Davis says:

    Glad to flatter you. I did think your drawing (and the technique) was pretty cool. Maybe you didn’t originate it, but that where I was first exposed to it (get it? “negative image”… “exposed”? never mind).

    I did mine in a more DIY manner. With Preview on my Mac (and I had to Goggle how to do this) you slide the white slider one way and the black slider the opposite way and… ta da-aaah! A negative image.

Leave a Reply

