30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 12

30-Day_Part2

The challenge gets demanding!

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.

Doctor

Day 12: Our assignment was to draw our What We Wanted To Be When We Grew Up.

So who says I wanted to grow up at all?

Actually though, since early childhood I knew that I wanted to be. I wanted to be a doctor in a far-flung mission hospital in India or Africa. Just like the guys my parents often had over for dinner. Their stories captivated me and I wanted to help people in the same way.

It didn’t exactly play out as I had planned as a child. I never did actually become a doctor, but we did wind up doing a lot of medical work because no one else was around.

So how about you? Did you know what you wanted to be when you grew up? How did it work out?

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 12

  1. Don says:

    So how come you never became a doctor?

    Also, this might interest you:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caduceus#Misuse_as_symbol_of_medicine
    The more you know…

    • Bill Davis says:

      Hmmm. So much for Google and being in a hurry. I will have to change that to the correct Moses’ Bronze Serpent doctor stick.

      Maybe I didn’t become a doctor because I don’t even know what the logo looks like?!

      Actually, I was young for my grade in high school, and my maturity to buckle down and work up to potential was *cough* lacking, let us say. So, at my counselor’s suggestion, I went to junior college at 16 as a music major as a stalling strategy, since I had no real clue what to do with my life at that point. A few wasted years (pun intended) later, I headed into a better direction. Since that point, I love school, but I wonder if I ever had the drive it takes to be a doctor.

      • Don says:

        Sorry to be a stickler, but it’s actually the Rod of Asclepius, who was the Greek god of healing and medicine.

        Anyway, those problems you had in school sound awfully familiar…

        Can’t wait to see your mythical creature.

      • Bill Davis says:

        Ah yes, no problems with sticklering, but Moses predates that. Homer was contemporary with King David. So the original idea is most likely the “look and be healed” bronze serpent. That is actually even given as an possible origin in the Wiki post on the Rod of Ascieptius.

Leave a Reply

