30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 8

30-Day_Part2

The challenge is Magic!

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.

Disneyland

Day 8: Our assignment was to draw an Amusement Park.

I’m really don’t go to amusement parks much anymore. Never been to Magic Mountain (Yeah, I know. I’m boring.) However, for me, growing up here in San Diego, when you say “Amusement Park,” I think Disneyland.

It’s the iconic park, my first as a kid. Went with my family. Went with out-of-town relatives. Went with my school, my youth group, my friends. Went with my girlfriend (now wife of nearly 37 years, so it worked, right?). Went with our kids, our kids’ school and our kids’ friends. And for sure we’ll be going with the grandkids.

We grew up watching Disneyland grow up. I remember when the Haunted Mansion was brand new, when there was no Thunder Mountain or Space Mountain. The only mountain was the Matterhorn. I remember when Pirates of the Caribbean was opened. Dude, I even remember when a family could afford to GO to Disneyland!

I remember when there was NO SMALL WORLD. Ah, those were the days!

And of course, we remember when there were different coupons for different classes of rides: A and B for the “kiddie stuff.” C, D were better…

…and then there were those coveted E COUPONS!

So now if you hear old folks like us call something an “E Coupon ride,” you know what we mean.

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 8

  1. Don says:

    I always heard about “e tickets”, i.e. “this sure ain’t no e ticket!”.

    But we were spoiled growing up in San Diego, huh?
    Amusement Park? We’ve got Disneyland not far.
    Aquarium? Sea World.
    Zoo? WORLD FAMOUS San Diego Zoo AND the Wild Animal Park
    Never occurred to me growing up that EVERY city didn’t have a Sea World, or a zoo just like the San Diego Zoo…

    • Bill Davis says:

      Yes… And don’t forget perfect weather year round (actually, I tell people that San Diego has a climate, but we don’t have weather). Oh yeah, and awesome Mexican food…

  2. Bill Davis says:

    Here are the answers: Our First Date, and waiter at Farrell’s Ice Cream Parlour.

    In Nov 1974, on our first date, Donna and I saw “Airport 1975” at the old Grossmont Cinema (detached from the mall at that time.) Afterwards we went to Farrell’s Ice Cream Parlour. Their theme was rag time music, waiters in vests and puffy shirts (see Seinfeld). They ran a lot of crazy stunts when you ordered certain items, etc.

Leave a Reply

