30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 7

30-Day_Part2

The challenge takes flight as week 1 comes to a close.

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.Freeway Hawk

Day 7: My assignment was to draw My Favorite Bird.

I had to think about this one… favorite BIRD, you say?

As a writer, I suppose I should have picked BOTH birds in Anne Lamott’s classic Bird By Bird.

I seriously considered this bird (a real favorite for me):

KFC Bucket

Or maybe a chicken curry, or something like this spicy bhuna murgh:

Bhuna Murgh

Spicy Bhuna Murgh… Yes, Please

I’ve not even above mentioning “Birdman” Tony Hawk, the world-class pro skateboader from my home town, just to get some hits on my blog from unsuspecting skaters (do skaters ever even click on WordPress links?! naw…)

But in the end, I buckled down and selected a real bird for you, which you see above. This is what my wife and I call the “California Freeway Hawk.” It’s a new species which has appeared as more and more interstates are built through the brushy canyons of Southern California. These hawks circle over 8 lanes of high-speed traffic, or perch nonchalantly on light posts on the shoulder, looking along the roadside for potential prey. They really couldn’t seem to be bothered less by the concrete or the traffic.

While I don’t like to dwell on what happens after they snatch a cute little fuzzy critter in their talons, I admit that I love the majesty of birds of prey. Their skills and the speed with which they dive and catch their dinner is nothing short of amazing.

And the way the glide effortlessly, circling ever higher, is soothing and inspiring.

They adapt. They soar. They make a life in spite of enchroachment and unwelcome changes. They make me think of life’s possibilities, as well.

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

