30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 4

30-Day_Part2

The challenge totters on.

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.

The Shame of Pinterest

Day 3: My assignment was to draw a Secret About Myself.

Hmmmm. Once I post it here, it won’t be a secret anymore. So only the first reader will truly be enlightened with a never-yet-revealed truth.

Is it you, dear reader?

I thought of all kinds of secrets (and no, I’m not telling that one, sorry). Anatomical secrets (my little fingers are crooked); Cultural Illiteracy secrets (I have never seen a “Rocky” movie or “Cheers” …for decades we lived and worked where such things did not reach… or matter much); Calendrical (is that even a word?!!) secrets (I was born on American Thanksgiving); Gastronomical secrets (I hate olives, pickles and most fruit, but could eat French Fries—sincere apologies to all Français—every day, given the chance and some miraculous medical science to protect my cardiac health and waistline)…

But I decided to go with a real secret, one that, in the spirit of secrets and revelations, has great inherent risk involved. I mean, what will people think?

Yes, I have a Pinterest account.

There. I said it.

I hope all my guy friends will still hang out with me at the pub watching rugby (wait… they don’t do that now, as it is. Maybe they already knew?!)

My Pinterest is mostly pictures of food (I love to cook… well, and eat), and some ideas of fun things to do with my amazingcutesmartandwonderful grandkids. And hey, there are some preeeeetty manly recipes on Pinterest. I mean, Slow Cooker Asian Ribs? Slabs of meat count as being masculine, right?!

So okay. The secret’s out.

Anyone want to share recipes… ?

Still don’t think Pinterest recipes can be manly? How about this greasy, flavorful way to amp up a plain ol’ grilled cheese sandwich:
Manly Sandwich

Sweet & Spicy Caramelized Onion BBQ Grilled Cheese Sandwich

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 4

  1. Don says:

    Great post. I have a strong urge to give you crap about having a Pinterest account, but, you see, I have one too. Tragic how this sort of thing spreads.

  2. Shelly says:

    Oh, YUM!!

Leave a Reply

