30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 2

30-Day_Part2

We continue the challenge.

See the blog Expatriatism for a list of the other worthy participants, including my artist niece, and links to their daily drawings.

Kickin' It

Day 2: Our assignment was to draw our Favorite Sport.

Um, sure. Okay. Sport. Yeah, right.

Maybe you should know that growing up my “sport” was playing classical piano and drawing cartoons. No Little League. No Pop Warner football. I was terrible in P.E. (and hated it). I could not do a single push-up or pull-up, and never ran a mile–in any time without stopping (and gasping for breath).

Well, I have enjoyed watching some sports over the years. Mostly (American) Football. I can enjoy a game of that, usually with the sound off–those announcers are so annoying, and state the obvious:

[Play-by-play guy]: He caught it!
[Color guy (i.e. has-been football player)]: Yes, I used to cacth ’em better when I was….
[Stats guy, interrupting]:(quick check of internet stats) and he’s only the first to catch a 33-yard pass from a right handed quaterback on an odd day of the month when the moon is in Gemini.
[Play-by-play guy]: Yes, he caught it!

But seriously, my feelings about football changed when I myself became a star. My name was drawn in a context and I could win tickets to the Pro Bowl in Hawaii if I defeated some other guys in kicking field goals during the Charger game half time.

I knew I would lose, but I quickly agreed to miss a few field goals in public in order to get free tickets to that home game, plus a gift certificate.

I won.

My wife and I enjoyed 4 days in Honolulu, not to mention the Pro Bowl, because of my field goals, which were, of course, among the true miracles of the 20th Century.

Kickin’ It has have a different meaning to me ever since.

Before you compliment the super-cool way I drew a tennis shoe here, please take note here of my thanks and nods to my friend and amazing cartoonist Bob Penuelas, the creator of Maynard And The Rat, which ran in Surfer Magazine for years and featured the character Wilbur Kookmeyer (and some amazing pen and ink work.) I have shamelessly copied his shoe style, while of course, falling far short of the orginal. Bob, you still rock!
About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 2

  1. Don says:

    That may be the best sports commentary ever… and really, I think it’s the same watching/listening to political commentators – “No right-handed Republican born in an even numbered year has ever won the majority of the vote without winning Nebraska!” Stupid, stupid stuff.

    Anyway, cool drawing. Got a link to your friends cartoons?

  2. Freebie says:

    I can see where winning a contest would change your mind about a sport.
    Nice drawing! Love that cartoon stylin.

Leave a Reply

