Possibilities

Today I resurrect my neglected blog with a post about my word for the year 2013:

Possibilities

Last year was the first time I selected a “Word for the Year,” and I chose Rest. I knew that 2012 would be one of the most challenging years on my life work-wise, and it was. I could see it coming–the need to pause often, to reflect, to regain perspective and force myself to rest, rather than allowing frantic worry and the pressure of looming deadlines to destroy me and the quality of my work in the process.

Rest was an excellent choice. Since June 2012 we’ve been in the final mad push to finish a 30-year translation project. But now we’re done, past all that and looking ahead at what’s next.

For 2013, I have chosen the word Possibilities as my theme.

Question MarkI don’t mean the adjective possible, which implies a question mark: Can it be done? Is it possible or impossible? Who knows?

And I don’t mean the singular possibility, which also speaks more of the odds, of doubt, of uncertainty: Is there any possibility of success? Might this even happen or not?

Nope. I have chosen the word possibilities.

The plural form possibilities cries for an exclamation mark, and speaks instead of options, of roads yet undiscovered, of wonderful outcomes not yet envisioned and dreams not yet dreamed.

Having possibilities as a theme word should help me remain positive and hopeful about the future. But I want more than that. My desire is also to see possibilities in the challenges that come my way, to look for possibilities in the unexpected and unpleasant difficulties which I might otherwise all too quickly label as interferences rather than opportunties.

I don’t want to miss out.

I want to see all the possibilities.

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Possibilities

  1. Pingback: 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 1 | Bill Davis' Words

  2. Pingback: 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 7 | Bill Davis' Words

Leave a Reply

