My Novel

What do I do nights and weekends? I write. As much as I can.

My major work in progress is a novel set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines. It’s a story of international intrigue and environmental concerns as they intersect with friendship and other relationships, internal struggles and personal growth. Multiple subplots involve a rich cast of characters: Filipinos, tribal minorities, Americans and Koreans and other expats.

We have lived and worked on Palawan since 1982; we even raised our children here. I speak two local languages fluently and have Filipino and expat friends in town and three generations of special relationships among the ethnic minority where we lived. All of this informs my writing as I try to showcase the beauty of Palawan and weave together all the complexities that make Palawan an unique, interesting place. At the same time, underneath the exotic exterior, people are the same and face the same inner struggles the world over.

I’ll post updates and some samples as the work progresses.

-Bill

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Novel. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Novel

  1. Kevin says:

    Nice… so I am sure you have had and continue to consume mass quantities of “lumpia & panset” (spelling???) My favorite Philipino food!

    I graduated in 82…ha!

    Kevin

    • Bill Davis says:

      Yes, we’ve eaten and enjoyed lots of both, and plenty or others. Very good. And our daughter who grew up here surprises her Filipina coworkers when she (the tall American girl) shows up at potlucks with home-made Filipino dishes! ’72 here.

  2. I actually have many many friends that live in the Palawan’s and Manilla. They are beautiful and extraordinary people. Their culture is amazing, and one day I will have the opportunity to travel there…hopefully in the next year or so… on a missions trip. All the best to you and your novel.

  3. faith says:

    hi! kumusta po kayo? nice to know you spent many years in our country… i have not visited palawan yet, but i know how beautiful it is… goodluck to your novel… i want to start a blog, i hope you can help me=) im not good in writing but i want to learn much… Salamat!

    • Bill Davis says:

      We love it here. Thanks. All I can say for your blog, is start writing and keep at it! Read other people’s blogs to learn, and ask for feedback on yours and see where it goes… Good luck!

  4. r3dg3 says:

    Good thing I discovered blogging. Now I can really continue writing my first novel. A modest attempt, actually, and with no hope of having it published in the Philippines. There’s no support here really for local novelists. Anyway, it doesn’t matter now. I have to resume writing for the love of the written word.

    Good luck in everything you do. Thank you for the time and the pieces of advice you shared.

  5. Pepe says:

    Good luck with the novel, Bill. I hope to be one of its first readers. 🙂 I’ve always been interested in Palawan. As a kid, I once thought of retiring there because I’ve been hearing a lot about the place’s awe-inspiring natural beauty (I am a staunch environmentalist, a supporter of sustainable development). We’re planning to visit Palawan, probably Corón, next year.

    • Bill Davis says:

      Thanks, Pepe!
      I want to have Filipino “trial readers” when the novel is ready, to get their reaction (is it authentic? hopefully not offensive? etc.) So maybe you could be one of the first 🙂

      Meanwhile, I hope you get to Palawan. I haven’t been to Coron, but it looks gorgeous.

  6. Wow! Good luck with the novel, Bill! I hope you’re enjoying Palawan. My dad is from there but I only visit Palawan once a year.

    -Yoshke of Yoshke.com and The Poor Traveler blogs 🙂

    • Bill Davis says:

      Hi, Yoshke. Stay tuned… the novel will be done someday! We love Palawan and it’s been home for many years. What part of Palawan is your dad from?

Leave a Reply

