Voices

voices

spoke to me

at night

from the corner of the ceiling

whispered fluttery echoes

a murmured chorus

of unseen bats

from a haunted cave

vaporous hypnotic vocalizations

hissing

abrupt and insistent

chattering wordless commands

voices

somehow I knew

as a child

there were more than one

of them

and I knew

as a child

this was evil

the darkest malevolence

pursuing me

not understood with the mind

yet felt and known

voices

I heard with bones and flesh

and not ears

sinking into me

like arrows

flung

from their safe vantage point

pulsing electric shocks

an icy whirlwind

cutting through my blanket

mocking laughter

stalking, seeking me out

voices

made my heart race

in quivering panic

trapped

on the top bunk

alone

in the dark

with no escape

I kept it secret

and never knew the message

nor the owners

of the voices

About Bill Davis

Writer, speaker and translation and language learning consultant. I write technical articles, poetry and humor, and I am working on my first novel which is set on the island of Palawan in the Philippines.
This entry was posted in Memoir, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Voices

  1. Pingback: 30-Day Drawing Challenge: Day 25 | Bill Davis' Words

Leave a Reply

